Stated Creativity

For the past 25 years, the Ohio Art Council (OAC) has supported individual artists from around the state.   To commemorate this admirable feat, the Ohio Arts Council’s Riffe Gallery offers Celebration of Creativity, featuring 18 Ohio artists from all corners of the state.   Among those 18 artists are Alan Crockett, James Friedman and Lowell Tolstedt from Columbus.

The diverse range of work for this event, which features pieces from artists who have received one or more OAC Fellowships since 1980, was selected by curators Dennis Harrington, Kay Koeninger and Kitty Zurko.  Each of the three curators tackled a region of the state by reviewing portfolios and visiting artist studios before making the difficult choice of narrowing down the field.

“Ohio boasts a truly remarkable wealth of artistic talent,” says Dennis Harrington, director of the Weston Art Gallery, who selected artists from the southern region. “It has always been one of the favorite aspects of my job to conduct studio visits and enter the artists’ inner sanctum.  This project introduced me to new artists in areas I hadn’t explored, and I was able to revisit artists with whom I have worked in the past.”

The Ohio Arts Council, a state agency, was created in 1965 to “foster and encourage the development of the arts and assist the preservation of Ohio’s Cultural heritage.”   The Council accomplishes this through various fellowships such as those received by the featured artists in Celebration of Creativity.

Celebration of Creativity runs through September 27 at the Ohio Arts Council’s Riffe Gallery, located in the Vern Riffe Center for Government and the Arts, 77 S. High St.  Admission is free.

For more information about these and other arts-related events, go to